• Home
  • "Songs of Freedom and Struggle" (Online Swap)

"Songs of Freedom and Struggle" (Online Swap)

  • 12/29/2020
  • 4:00 PM - 6:00 PM
  • https://www.facebook.com/Peoples.Music.Network/live/


  • Requires code.
  • If you wish to join PMN, see https://www.peoplesmusic.org/join-PMN

Registration is closed

Connecting through Zoom

Members of the People's Music Network and invited artists may use the registration form on this page to sign up to share a song or a poem during this online event OR to be part of the audience.  Registered performers and audience members receive an e-mail message containing the Zoom Meeting link.  Registering as a performer doesn't automatically mean you will be included in the final performance line up, but it is the first step (See below, "How we Select the Performers").  

The content of the online swap will also be livestreamed free of charge via the PMN Facebook Page AND the PMN Youtube Channel.

Registration Deadline: Sunday, December 27 at 9:00 PM (EDT)

The order of performance will be released the morning after the registration deadline.  You may register for this event after the deadline and you'll be added to the wait list.

The Topic

In this livestreamed video conference event, members of the People's Music Network are invited to share poetry and songs of Freedom and Struggle that speak to the tumultuous times we're living in: Political division, police and vigilante violence, a raging pandemic, a deepening climate catastrophe, the threat of nuclear war and so much more.  In these  dangerous times, we gather strength and courage from songs that nourish our spirits, make sense of the events unfolding before us, and sustain the dream of a better future where people can live in dignity.

LYRICS:  http://bit.ly/2020-12-29-Lyrics_PMN_Swap


1. 4.06 PM(ET) - Deborah Silverstein – "Light a Light" www.debobiz.com
2. 4.12 PM(ET) - Dave Mason – "How Can A Man?"
3. 4.18 PM(ET) - Jenny Brown – "Whirlwinds of Danger"
4. 4.24 PM(ET) - Paul Goldman – "Goodbye 2020"
5. 4.30 PM(ET) - Alice Sutter – "Celebrate These Times"
6. 4.36 PM(ET) - Jenny Amanda Hurwitz – "TBA"
7. 4.42 PM(ET) - Ruben Gonzalez – "Woman of War" www.rubegonzalezmusic.org
8. 4.48 PM(ET) - Mara Levine – "Be The Change by Arlon Bennett" www.maralevine.com
9. 4.54 PM(ET) - Len Seligman – "You Are Home" www.LenSeligman.com
10. 5.00 PM(ET) - Sand Edwards – "Yes"
11. 5.06 PM(ET) - Joanie Calem – "Stand Up" www.joaniecalem.com
12. 5.12 PM(ET) - robert brashear – "Listen"
13. 5.18 PM(ET) - Joia Mukherjee – "I can’t breathe"
14. 5.24 PM(ET) - Joe Zoske – "Chicken Little Was Right"
15. 5.30 PM(ET) - Brent Kramer – "The Pea Island Surfmen"
16. 5.36 PM(ET) - Terri Roben – "Start It All Over Again - Battlefield Band" www.Rkjazzandblues.com
17. 5.42 PM(ET) - Paul McKenna – "Bring Back the Light" www.paulmckennamusic.com
18. 5.48 PM(ET) - Dave & Susan cadaqu – "End Gun Tyranny Today" www.cadaqu.com
19. 5.54 PM(ET) - Verne McArthur – "Charlie on the Biomass Train"
20. 6.00 PM(ET) - Ben Grosscup – "Love me, I'm a Liberal" www.youtube.com/c/BenGrosscup
W01. (ET) - Tony Harper – "The Time is Now - by Jim Page (Seattle)"
W02. (ET) - Sally Campbell – ""One Man's Hands" by Pete Seeger and Alex Comfort"
W03. (ET) - Mary McCaffrey – "TBD"
W04. (ET) - Marc Hecker – "Come Get Behind Me, Satan"
W05. (ET) - Joel Landy – "(To Be Determined)" www.singfreedom.org
W06. (ET) - Pat Lamanna – "Let Us Be Still" www.patlamanna.com
W07. (ET) - juhkol – "Cult/ure Problem" www.linktr.ee/galejklol
W08. (ET) - S. Rainsford Rouner – "Open Up the Gates"
W09. (ET) - David Tarlo – "Tomorrow Lies in the Cradle Fred Hellerman" www.HudsonVallySally.com
W10. (ET) - Patricia Shannon – "Take Care of Our Planet" www.patriciashannon.blogspot.com
W11. (ET) - Ryc Ward – "Bring In the Light" www.rycward.com
W12. (ET) - Barbara Dyskant – "A Big Black Snake"
W13. (ET) - Michael & Nell – "Welcome Home" www.shelbysong.com
W14. (ET) - ELYAS ISAACS – "Take Your Shoes Off Moses & Go Tell It On The Mountain" www.ReverbNation/bittersweet

Eligibility to Perform

Performers in this swap must:

1)   Be invited artists and/or PMN members in good standing.* 

2)   Register using the online form.

3)   Have a computer with functioning video camera and microphone.

* If you are not a PMN member, you may join here: https://www.peoplesmusic.org/join-PMN

How we Select the Performers

Every PMN member wishing to perform at this event is invited to register and to do so sooner than later.  Selection for the final performer list, however, is not first-come first-served.  Instead, we give priority to new PMN members as well as PMN members who have not yet performed in one of our previous online swap events.  We hold these song swap events regularly.  If we can't fit you in this time, anticipate more opportunities soon!

Technical Orientation Session: MondayDecember 28, 4:00-5:00 PM

Selected performers will receive an e-mail invitation to a technical orientation session at the time listed above by the morning of the same day.  We will discuss and practice how to get the best sound when sharing music on Zoom.  Each performer will have a chance to sing a verse of a song and then receive feedback on ways to improve the audio quality.  While perfection is not expected, artists new to Zoom are strongly encouraged to attend the tech run through, because doing so will build your confidence in using these tools.  The audio quality that listeners hear of your live performance depends on the equipment you have and how you use it.  Find tips to improve audio quality here.

Free Livestream



Thursday, December 29, 4:00 - 6:00 PM (EDT)

**Past and future Livestreams are available through the PMN Facebook Live Page: https://www.facebook.com/Peoples.Music.Network/live

Help Publicize!

Encourage your friends to tune into this online musical event for progressive culture:  Share the event on Facebook!!  https://www.facebook.com/events/3356528721137078

©2017-2021 People's Music Network for Songs of Freedom and Struggle is a 501(c)(3) non-profit organization.

PMN Video Livestreams on Facebook and Youtube

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software